Today’s Numberz: 24 miles short of 900

I didn’t quite make it to 900 miles by the mid-point of 2013. But oh so close.

It would have been nice. But it wasn’t meant to be. I guess that’s what happens when I set a 6-month long goal with only one month to go.

See, I ended up running a total of 900 miles in all of 2012. It was an off year for me for running. A new job with a longer commute. An increasingly busy schedule for my two boys. Personal stuff. Etc.

2013 got off to a much better start. I originally had a plan to just run every day in January. That worked, so I kept it up in February. And then just kept going through March. And April. And May. So when June rolled around and I realized I only needed to run 151 miles for the month to equal last year’s cumulative miles in half the time, I went for it. I put it out there as a goal. And then proceeded to flop almost immediately.

Work ramped up significantly. The school year ended for the boys so we started doing a lot more stuff. And birthdays, holidays, and other celebrations started adding up. Running time has been at a premium.

But it’s been quite the ride for the past six months. I’ve managed to run at least one mile every single day of the year (and most days far more miles than just one!). So yesterday was day #181 for the year (and #184 for the streak since I started it on December 29). I even had my son ride his bike behind me for my 5-miler neighborhood loop yesterday as a bit of a victory lap for finishing off the six months (plus it was nice to have some running company).

In the middle of those six months of miles, I managed a sizable half marathon PR, a strong marathon PR, and even ran my first 10k in decades (which also earned me a second-place medal in my age group). Quite the year.

So although I didn’t quite hit my 900-mile goal, I don’t have anything to be disappointed with (in the grand scheme of things, what’s 2.7% after all?). It was certainly an interesting time chasing that goal.

As for what’s next, I have two fun run half marathons coming up in August and September and a PR-targeted marathon on my schedule for October.

Stay tuned this week for more on my readjusted goals for the rest of 2013 and some news on the running streak…

Going strong throughout 2013...

Going strong throughout 2013…

This entry was posted in 10k, goals, half marathon, marathon, running, training, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today’s Numberz: 24 miles short of 900

  1. Those are incredible stats for the year, Jack. You’ve done an amazing job! Can’t wait to see what the rest of the year looks like.

  2. Dominick S. says:

    I’m exhausted thinking about this kind of mileage…you must eat a ton of food. Great job, you’re still on pace for an epic year!

  3. Dan says:

    Great progress, sir. Your post made me wonder where I am numbers-wise, and I’m about 100 miles behind you at 794 for the year. That said, the next two months should hopefully be my biggest ones ever if all goes to plan. So I might catch up to you yet!

Leave a comment